How do you prevent/treat coccidia in your herd?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LittleFluffyBunnies

Reaction score
I am curious if any of you regularly treat for coccidia, or use preventative measures, and if I should. I don't know if this is normal. I do have a great fear of coccidiosis :oops: . I am afraid it is hiding in my rabbits for some reason. Anyway, is there anything I should be doing besides maintaining a clean environment, feeding a healthy diet, and only breeding when they are in optimal condition? I am quite new to rabbits and I am not sure.

Most rabbits already have the parasite in small numbers and I don't regularly treat for it. It is when the parasite gets to unmanagble numbers that the rabbits start to get sickly

Good hygiene practices and keeping your rabbits as stress free as possible are the best measures to keep your rabbits immune systems strong so they can keep the parasite, and most disease, in check

I definitely have cocci floating around. I don't treat for it at all, and follow the same basic practices you do, along with feeding high tannin plants, especially to kits.

I look at lots and lots of livers...An occasional white spot crops up, but I do not have any increased risk of mortality. I select only the healthiest and fastest growing kits for my brood stock, and hope that it's helping breed towards good immune systems and natural resistance. Still scared to put any on the ground though.

Since rabbits naturally are ground dwelling animals I think that a sensibility for coccidosis is a bred in fault, different in different lines or populations.