Register

Wrong Ear

A place to vent about what's bugging you. Please keep it civil.
4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
United States of America Male
BunnyBucks: 1,030.00

Wrong Ear

Post Number:#1  Unread postby bigfoot_158 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:05 pm

I am new to rabbits, I am sure you have heard that before. I bought a buck and a doe from a local breeder.

First thing I need to know is do you look at the rabbit from front meaning head or the back meaning tail to determine which ear gets the tattoo in. I am pretty sure its the back that means my doe has the right ear tattooed by the breeder. Which means its wrong ear. The buck if you look at the left ear from the back of the rabbit is right, I hope.

So, what do i do with this doe?

Contact the breeder and let her know its wrong?

Deal with it. which means no showing of the rabbit?

I just dont know what to do with her. :?
Have a Nice day
BigFoot

4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
Female
BunnyBucks: 625.00

Re: Wrong Ear

Post Number:#2  Unread postby powellanimals » Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:41 pm

It's the rabbits left ear so when looking at it, it's the one near your right hand.
https://www.facebook.com/powellanimals/

Post Number:#3  Unread postby bigfoot_158 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:05 pm

Yep!! its in the wrong ear for sure. So what should I do about it?
Have a Nice day
BigFoot

Site Supporter
Male
BunnyBucks: 1,196.00

Post Number:#4  Unread postby SoDak Thriver » Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:32 am

Tattoo the other ear as well. Or ask the breeder to do it. The tattoo for show has to be in the correct ear, but I don't think they'll DQ you for having a tattoo in he other ear as well.
Homeschooling dad of 4 (aged 14, 10, 8, 3), accountant, and rabbit noob apprentice.

Site Supporter
5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership5 years of membership
BunnyBucks: 15,234.00