Won't drink from water bottles

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sully022

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to rabbits and at this time i have 12 rabbits. I have 4 at this time that wont or can't figure out how to drink from their water bottle. So i have to keep putting in a dish.

I read online a couple of tips so here is what i have tried.

1. Bring them over and hold them there as you push on the stem releasing water so it drips on their nose and they see that water comes out.

2. Took strawberry jelly and spread it on the tip of the bottle. So the way it's supposed to work they smell the sweet jelly go to lick and out comes some water.

I have done both of these and they are not seeming to catch on.

I am looking for other tips and tricks you have had success with.

Thanks all

Sully

I know it doesn't sound nice, but when I was using bottles I would squeeze the bottle and squirt the rabbits with it. They were smart enough to figure out that 'Hey! This things has water in it!' and would drink. I do have one doe who will barely drink from a bottle though. She just never liked them. She has to be on the edge of dehydration to touch it. Luckily, bowls work better for my situation, so I don't have to worry about it.

Dish get spilled, evaporate, dirty quickly, and can even drown babies. Prefer bottles to crocks any day because of that. I've lost rabbits because of tipped crocks and babies getting in buut not out. Bottles are the only way I've found to measure water in take the closest. Do you use spring or ball type? Ball is easier for them to use, spring is harder. Try leaving bottle all day over bowl, leaky one if can. No water in crack tho, if had to would go back through at end of day and put water in crocks then.