What to do?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karebru

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I'll try to keep the story short, but I need to explain. I'd post this in the troubleshooting section, but it's more complicated than that...
I'm sure it wouldn't be an issue to get a replacement rabbit from my supplier. He's already offered me a free rabbit the next time I visit him. Since I'm a nervous beginner, I owe him the benefit of the doubt, and I won't say who he is over the internet. Everything I find online says he is highly respected, and like I said, I'm just a beginner.
The problem isn't money. All things considered, even pedigree rabbits just aren't that expensive. The problem is distance. I had my mind set on Florida Whites, and the closest supplier of FW breeding stock that I managed to find was several hours away.
There was a mix up... Based on what I said I wanted over emails, he had planned ahead and decided on what to offer me, but by the time I got there, I had changed what I wanted and he worked to accommodate me. In the process, I came home with paperwork that didn't match the tattoo on the young FW doe. We're still working that out. I'm expecting the matching pedigree to show up in the mail any day now. (Fingers crossed.)
The real problem is, there is something going on with this doe's right eye. I did notice as we were walking the rows and passing cages, that one of the rabbits had a cloudy eye. I can't say that I ended up with that rabbit. I didn't notice that there was a problem with my rabbit until a couple days after bringing her home. The supplier's response to the news was that it probably wasn't anything serious since, "it wasn't like that when she left", and he offered some vague suggestions about antibiotic drops, and an apology for giving me "the wrong rabbit."