What Pearl color is this French Angora?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fuzzybunz

Reaction score
Hi! New to the forum here, although I've been just a lurker/reader for awhile :D What color do you think this guy is? I've had many and varied oppinions on him, sable pearl, blue pearl, smoke pearl.... Trying to find good color pictures AND descriptions online is hard!

His face, ears, feet, and tail are a nice medium blue grey. His face the blue grey fades out to slightly brown tinged. His wool is a pale grey that is almost a warmish toned grey when plucked (I'm an artist so I notice color warmths or coolnesses :D others might not notice it so) When he's been plucked his new coat is a med. dark blue until the undercoat starts to grow in.

Got him from a backyard breeder and lucked out on a totally awesome coat. I think his siblings may have been dilute agouti's, I vaugely remember mixed blue/brown coats, but I didn't know rabbit colors back then, and I fell in love with this guy, so I didn't look too hard at the others.

So what's your thoughts?

The day I brought him home...

Also if this helps, I bred him to my English angora fawn doe not realizing fawn was agouti based(on miss-assumption based on a faulty "ok to breed x to x color chart") I wanted to get some woolers with daddy's easy care coat and mama's heavy coat for handspinning. I ended up with 4 black babies and 4 agouti based, most likely chestnut kits.

429142_3079435516530_922723478_n_zps2ed1c21d.jpg

416959_3174771819878_1141807345_n_zps53d69bc8.jpg

Some better pictures I took last summer aiming for acurate color for color ID'ing
IMG_7171.jpg

IMG_7167.jpg

Wool on his back parted
IMG_7162.jpg

IMG_7163.jpg

IMG_7175.jpg

IMG_7224.jpg