What are the chances 3 does will bond

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

squidpop

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
What are the chances 3 does will bond (or just not fight and hurt each other) if they are in a really big space, about 22 feet by 24 feet. 2 of the does already are bonded and living in one half of the space and I want to open the divider so the other doe can share the one big open space. I have opened the divider before and they did fight- no blood but fur was flying. They are Jersey Woolies and not spayed.

I am not an expert at this, as I house all my rabbits in their own cages.
My opinion is: They, [the two that are already bonded]
will see the other as "An intruder' and will most likely attack
with a vengeance! But, it's only my opinion and I would not risk it.
We all must do what we feel is best for those who are in our charge.
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer:

It really depends on the does.

I currently keep 3 intact house bunny does in the same cage and they get along great. Two are mother and daughter and the 3rd I added as an 8 week kit. I have a 4th doe who is VERY anti social an must live on her own, she was the mother to one of the 3 does and lived with her for about 4 months then started beating her daughter up so I seperated them. She was always a rather territorial rabbit and often lunged at the buck when it was breeding time.

When I had a large outdoor colony some rabbits were either very bossy and just couldn't get along or were very submissive and always got picked on even after the most dominant rabbits were removed.

You'll just have to give it a shot and hope for the best :shrug: