Warren plans - selecting the site

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LASGSD

Reaction score
I'm not new to rabbits but I am new to naturally raising them so I need some help! :)

I want to start raising them again next spring and am starting to plan the warren site. I want to raise about 5-10 does with a couple bucks. I want them to be raised as naturally as possible.

Potential problems and issues I've encountered in the past (raising them in cage rows):

1. Predators - we have coyote, hawks and stray cats.
2. Heat - I've lost several rabbits in the past to heat (this summer was very hot and VERY humid)
3. Containment - while I want to raise them naturally I can't have them roaming the neighborhood :)

So, here's what I have to work with. I think this site will be the best. It's not too far from the house and barn (easier to do chores), it has natural shade from the tree and it has an existing 'mound' that they can use to dig holes (hopefully they will decide to dig there). You can see the 'building' I used for my cage row rabbitry before:

warrensite-01.jpg

So, on to the questions! :)

Most important - will the rabbits kill the tree if they start digging tunnels under it? We have several Elm trees that need to come down and that Maple will be the lone tree in our yard until my saplings grow up. I don't want to risk the tree!! I know I would have to protect the tree trunk from the buns but what about the roots?

How much space do rabbits need when in a colony?

How far out from a fence do you need to create a No Dig zone?

How fast can they dig a new tunnel? If I check the site every day and stop any tunnels being started in a NDZ will that keep them from getting under a fence?

Here's how close the back of the mound is to our neighbors fence:

warrensite-02.jpg

I'd say that's about 4-5' wide.

Will the buns try to eat the wood fence?