To wean or not to wean

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lpmorgens

Reaction score
I have two kits that turned 8 weeks today. We were planning to start weaning them last week as we bred mom the week before, but they are all does and so happy together. But, mom is due in two weeks. I am wondering how crucial it is to wean the kits, although for all I know, they are no longer nursing, but enjoying being together. They eat all the time!

I read in the wild, they self-wean between 6 and 7 weeks. I am more concerned about the effect it will have on "mom" to be nursing so close to due date or if the current kits should be sharing a cage with new kits... ok, you guessed, I'm a total newbie, but that is why I am asking. I also want to make sure that, if the kits do remain, they are not nursing as this will obviously have an ill effect on newborn kits. We can certainly remove the current kits... we do plan to keep them.

I would like to know if anyone has actually experienced having two sets of kits in the same cage. I don't want to stress out the kits. Is there a way to see if they are still nursing? They never have nursed in front of us, so I think catching it in the act is impossible. I would love to find a way to simulate the natural weaning/separation that happens in the wild. Thanks.

I would think if you leave those kits in with the newborns, the newborns will be very negatively affected. The older kits will take all the milk. I also believe the mom needs a break between nursing before starting again. In the wild the mom abandons the kits at 4 weeks old and digs a new burrow for her new litter. I would shocked if the kids are not still nursing on her, but if they are you should see it. Mine chase their mom around to nurse until I seperate them.