Tips for new breeders

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bramble Hedge

Reaction score
I thought some of these points in bunny breeding may be of interest to those new to breeding bunnies, I am no expert but just trying to help answer a few of your questions.

A young buck may be allowed to mate one doe at an interval of 3 to 4 days. But, from 12 months of age onwards he can mate 4-6 does over 7 days.

The rabbit belongs to a group of mammals which do not ovulate spontaneously. There is no oestrus cycle. Ovulation requires stimulus of mating and thus induced in nature. Ovulation occurs 10 - 13 hours after copulation – reflex ovulation. A Rabit's cycle lasts for about 12 days of which 4 are infertile when the doe may loose interest for the buck, if this occurs the breeder should attempt to rebreed the doe again in 7 days.

whether a doe is in heat condition or not is difficult to recognize outwardly. But, does may show some manifestations like restlessness, nervousness, rubbing of head and chin on the side of the cage or other objects. The vulva becomes swollen and purple in colour. But, acceptability of the does to the bucks or does reaction to bucks should be taken as a criteria for heat.

Early morning and early evening are the most conducive time for mating. A receptive doe will lift her tail and allow mating. If a buck is virile and doe in perfect heat, mating will occur almost immediately. After successful mating the buck usually produces a typical cry and falls down to one side of the doe. One mating is usually sufficient however most breeders will rebreed a doe in 10 hours (allowing for reflex ovulation). After mating the doe should be returned to her cage.

The gestation (pregnancy) period in rabbit ranges from 28-32 days (approximately 30 days).

Good tips, Bramble.