Tails on the hide? Tan feet?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stormy

Reaction score
Wondering if anyone has successfully tanned leaving the tails on the hide? If so, how? I just love the tails. I have tried unsuccessfully many times to try to cut the bone out - slitting down the underside of the tail - I can often get about half out before the tip half of the fur comes off with the bone.

I tried to tan a batch of feet and tails with bone-in with an alum/salt mix it was a disaster. The smell was horrendous. Does anyone here tan the feet? I hate wasting... plus I'm an artist so those feet seem like they are perfectly good potential sculptural material for some art project... destiny for some of the hides as well. (for some of the edgier things I make from bones and fur, not the rabbit angels :)

Stormy":tgzwa6fu said:
Wondering if anyone has successfully tanned leaving the tails on the hide? If so, how? I just love the tails. I have tried unsuccessfully many times to try to cut the bone out - slitting down the underside of the tail - I can often get about half out before the tip half of the fur comes off with the bone.

This works with fox and squirrel who have a lot longer tails. Take two pencils or dowels. Skin the tail to the point you can get the pencils/dowels on either side of the tail bone. Press together and pull with a steady force. The tail bone should slip right out. You will then need to salt/treat being sure you reach the tip of the tail. Alternatively, do as you mentioned, slitting the tail skin to the tip and skinning out the bone. Go slow, take your time, and don't pull.