sexing rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
If you know how, you can accurately sex a rabbit from birth, but it's generally easiest to do it when they are a few weeks old.

There are lots of pictures and threads in the forum devoted to such, but I've made a quick little illustration to show you what to look for (forgive me, I'm no artist!!) but essentially, when you check their genitals (by carefully holding the rabbit on its back - make sure it's relaxed - then gently pulling the skin covering their genitals back to expose them)

You will see a slit from top to bottom for a girl and sort of a 'finger' sticking up, with a round (or slightly oblong) opening for a boy.

baby rabbit gender.jpg <br /><br /> __________ Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:38 pm __________ <br /><br /> Also note that 'boy parts' will become much more obvious when the boy gets older.

heheh thanks, Zass... they make me chuckle, but thought it might get the point across without confusing images of bunny bits (which can be a bit unclear... as I'm sure you will see when you check your own babies, Hermiony!)

A Buck will look like a tiny Stove pipe,
A Doe will look a lot like a Taco! :twisted:
When in doubt: place the rabbit in a paper bag,
Shake gently= The ones that Rattle are BUCKS! :)
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer:

ottersatin":1buot9hb said:
When in doubt: place the rabbit in a paper bag,
Shake gently= The ones that Rattle are BUCKS! :)
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer:

:x :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well I took a look and I think one of them is male and the other is female. Please let me know if I'm correct. I am only keeping one of them and giving the other one back to the owner tomorrow. We rented both for Easter but are going to purchase one of them from the owner. The first 2 pictures are of bunny 1 and the other 3 are of bunny 2.

Attachments

• Bunny 2 again.JPG
    Bunny 2 again.JPG