Satins for Meat

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheila

Reaction score
I raised NZs years ago and want to have a few meat rabbits again. How do you feel about Satins for meat? I understand they originated with NZs.

I did read all the replies to the thread about best breeds and didn't see them mentioned.

Thanks.

Sorry Sheila,
I have no experience with Satins. Surley someone around does though....

:hi: Welcome to RabbitTalk, Sheila!

There are several breeds that make good meat rabbits besides the usual New Zealands and Californians: American Chinchilla, Silver Fox, Champagne d'Argents, and Satins come to mind.

Here is a website that might be of interest to you:
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Meat+rabb ... 0118444521

I have never raised Satins, but they certainly do have beautiful fur!

I've been looking at adding Satins to the meat pen. They're gorgeous and meaty. Not as BIG as the NWZ, but apparently make a really good cross. There's no reason you have to have a 5lb fryer all the time, either. Just want something that grows quickly, and is a healthy critter on the whole. Breeding easily and no constant fussing over them.

I have raised satins for years and I find them to be very nice rabbits. They are plenty big for meat and fur. They have great fur and often very good dispositions. I am also a big fan of american sables.

I have a Chocolate Satin doe Donna, who is my pride and joy. She is close to 10 lbs. She is very sweet and loves to have her nose rubbed but she does not like to be out of her cage. She was a great mom from the very first time and always raised great litters of about 10. Right now she has 9 and they are all good sized with not runts. I would fill my rabbitry with her daughters.

Maybe she is the exception of Satins, but I would not hesitate to give another Satin a chance.

Kat