Rex with patchy hair sores on feet and red genitals

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Natalia

Reaction score
I just got 4 rabbits Monday one has gunky eye and red lady parts and two have patchy hair I'm not experienced in a lot of rabbit health and am looking for advice

Hi Natalia and welcome to RabbitTalk! :hi:

Can you give us some more details so we can help your out? There are a number of things that might be going on. A bit of background on the conditions the rabbits experienced in their old home would help.

Also, when you say the doe's genitals are red, do you mean she looks like she's ready to breed or do you mean red as inflamed, sore, perhaps with lesions?

At a quick guess, I'd say these rabbits were likely kept in dirty conditions and that their problems are a result of that. But there are a number of other things it could be.

The conditions weren't very clean but I don't know much about them the person I got the from just had them to rehome and didn't know much they are red I'm not sure what they look like when ready to breed I have never bred rabbits before I have pictures but can't get them to upload to the site still trying to figure out how from my phone

Pictures would certainly help.

The redness of the doe's genitals could be normal "ready to breed" redness or it could be urine scald or an indicator of vent disease.

Sore feet on Rex rabbits are pretty common. They do not have as much fur padding there to protect them. Filth from a dirty cage could aggravate this. It would be a good idea to give them a resting board, so they do not have to spend all their time on the wire.

Scabby sores in the fur could be from fur mites. The skin gets itchy, they scratch and make things worse.

Check inside their ears for crusty looking gunk. If that is the case, they probably have ear mites too.