Recommend a blower?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arachyd

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to angoras and am looking for an inexpensive blower. I only have 3 of them but they are very wooly with practically no guard hairs and I'm having trouble keeping their coats matt-free even with grooming a few times a week. I was told they are a cross between English and American angora (never heard of American angora and can't find any info on such a breed ;) ). They are fully covered in wool from their ear tips to their tails like English. I'm not afraid to shave them down but I'd really like to try to keep their coats on them for plucking. Can anyone recommend a blower that won't require a 2nd mortgage and a reliable company to order from?

The question first: a vacuum cleaner that allows you to put the hose into the "goes out" part. Probably an OLD one would have that, or us a small shopvac. If you have a good will or similar near you, you can probably find something suitable for quite cheap. They're higher pitched and louder than a regular coat blower, but you can put a sleeve of sound barrier of some sort (paper filter, cardboard box, etc.) around them (don't overheat the motor tho) OR with a small shopvac, you can get a really long hose and put the motor part outside the room. (although I've discovered the rabbits don't seem to mind the noise from them)

You can occasionally find a used horse vaccuum, too. It's the same as a blower, just the hose is attached at the sucking end of the fan. Just take it off the suck end and put it on the blowing end.

The reason the blowers are SO expensive (other than selling to hobby people and show people who manufacturers think have money) is that they have multiple muffler type things in/on them so that they can run a longish time, without making motor overheat, or making a lot of sound.