Rabbit Tanning (FINAL)

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mystang89

Reaction score
PART 1
So I finally pushed myself into tanning the rabbit hides so I could make something with all the rabbit fur laying around in the freezers. I figured since this is my first time I would do a step by step not only for the people who don't know what to do or to show people what NOT to do but also so that if I did end up miraculously doing this right....that I would know what I did so I could do it again. :?

So first things first. I am going to give due credit where it is deserved. I'm not making this process up myself but I am taking it from http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php/topic,56668.0.html. This is the absolute best one I could find and gives a wonderful breakdown that even someone of my limited intelligence can understand...for the most part. The only thing it doesn't include are pictures and mistakes. That's where I come in at. Now when it comes to the tanning process I decided to go with the EZ tan solution. It was reasonably priced and it is easy to use. Plus it's what she used so if I was going to use her instructions to the tee I might as well use the solution as well.

I began with 4 hides. Three were frozen and 1 was being salt preserved. I let the one that was being salt preserved sit in a 5 gal bucket of a water/salt solution which consisted of 1 gal water with 2 lb of salt for about 6 hours. While that was sitting in the bucket I sat out the other 3 hides that were in the freezer to let them thaw.