NO more questions about my rabbit recipe

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mystang89

Reaction score
So I just butchered and cooked a 12 week old rabbit and now I have questions that will help me to do better next time.

First, I'm not good at frying things so when it comes to things like chicken it goes in the oven and we bake it. I can generally tell when the chicken is done because the leg bone will start to show. This brings me to my first question. When you bake or fry rabbit, how can you tell it is done? I don't like cutting into my meat because that tends to let the juices out and they dry up.

Secondly, I let it stay in the oven for about 30 min on 425F. This was the entire rabbit quartered. So you have the 4 legs, and the other misc. parts that I can't think of the name for. When we finally ate the rabbit it seemed to be a bit chewy and still had a touch of the "rabbit" taste with it. I feel dumb saying that since it is a rabbit. This is the first time for myself and my wife eating baked or fried rabbit so we don't really know what to expect. Is the rabbit supposed to be a little chewy? We thought it was supposed to be like chicken in as far as it just falls off the bone. If it's not supposed to necessarily be that chewy then what did I do wrong? Did I leave it in the over too long or not long enough? I suppose that goes back up to my first question about how to tell if a rabbit is done.

Thanks.

__________ Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:23 pm __________

I guess after reading a few things I should say it hadn't rested but maybe 2 - 3 hours not 2 - 3 days. Does this have anything to do with the chewiness of it?

mystang89":1wq7myum said:
I guess after reading a few things I should say it hadn't rested but maybe 2 - 3 hours not 2 - 3 days. Does this have anything to do with the chewiness of it?