Predator Proofing Cages Help!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Helene190

Reaction score
This is my first post on this forum so hopefully this is in the right place. :) I am new to raising rabbits and I have a couple of questions about predator protection. I just recently found some cages on craigslist for a great deal but the bar spacing is 1x4. What should I do to make this better withstand predators? I have 1/2x1/2 hardware cloth I started putting around the base and it seems really secure. How high do I need to make it? I live in the country and probably have a lot of predators including raccoons. :( Any help, tips, or advice would be super appreciated! :)

I would put plastic metal or wood on the outside of a corner. The rabbit will probably hang out here the most as it feels more secure with the solid walls. Also the raccoon cannot reach through them. Then I would put some wire on the other side. Also I'd only use cages with trays below them to keep the coons from reaching up through the bottom, if you can.

A friend has a serious racoon problem, so far they leave the rabbits alone and go for the chickens, maybe because the chickens are less of a threat to the raccoons at night than the rabbits are - which can fight back?

Thats a great idea! I'll definitely do that. Do you know how high the wire should be on the other parts of the cage?

What sort of shelter do you have for the cages?

If it's a very open carport, basically just a roof with legs, then you would need to secure either the cages like WallTenter suggested, or put up a fence (probably an electric fence for coons). Other members like OnaAcreFarm would have more information on securing cages in open structures.

If it's more enclosed, you can secure the structure itself with a couple layers of welded fence wire, 2x4 or 2x3 size holes.