Buck got ...all weird; maybe depressed?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john_francis

Reaction score
Hello. I'm flummoxed by our New Zealand white buck and his behavior. He went off his food and water for a couple of days and scrunched down with his head in a corner of his hutch. We kept checking on him and the level of feed plus the water and after the second full day of this we started to force him to drink with a 60 mil syringe. He has come back round to his usual self and is eating and drinking again. We feed him hay, clover, dandelion leaves, and alfalfa pellets plus change his water bottle twice per day. He has a nine foot hutch with an enclosed two foot square box which we clean 3 times a week, sometimes more. Can these guys just get the blues once in a while? I know that must sound .....well, I'm fairly new to this stuff, any ideas?

Sudden hot weather, perhaps? Or possibly a GI problem that has resolved itself.

One thing that sometimes causes problems with new rabbits is a change in how their water is given to them. If they are used to a crock or a certain type of water bottle, it is sometimes difficult for them to switch. They may drink some, but not enough. Soon as they stop drinking, they stop eating... and that means their system starts to shut down. Major problem.

Are you feeding the same foods as he got in his old home? Any changes should be made slowly over a period of time. If the change was sudden (from a pelleted "complete" rabbit food to a more natural diet, for instance)that may have precipitated the problem.

All this is speculation, of course. Maybe he was just missing his old home and was feeling down. There is a lot about rabbits we do know fully appreciate. :)