Trinity Oaks' grain-feed mix

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Mary Ann's Rabbitry":1ov7ivd7 said:
Is it ok for the small babies with mom to have it too?

I start giving it to mine while they are still in the nest, and have had no problems.

Can any type of vinegar help with digestion? I've never heard of using vinegar before- then again I'm very new to all this.

trying to figure out requirements of all my animals. I have worms and black solder flys for chickens - so that is why they are in this too. Are any of the rabbit - or - grain percentages off?

18% Rabbit nursing mama's and growing kits
18% Chicken
17% Guinea Pig
16% Rabbit (RT recomend)
13% Rabbit
-feed % can decrease when feeding hay, factor in hay protein

Protein
76 % Dried earthworms
58 % Mealworm
42 % Dried black soldier fly
28 % Earthworms (fresh)
26.3% boss
14 % Oats
12.5% wheat
12.3% barley
7 % Beet Pulp - can be as high as 10%

[Rabbit - base of two diff formulas - there are extras: salt, ect.]
Trinity Oaks' grain-feed mix
6 parts oats
1 part barley
1 part wheat
1 part BOSS (cold weather only)
Goat Drench - lactating

MamaSheepdog
4 lbs barley
4 lbs oats
2 lbs BOSS
2 lbs Beet Pulp (shreds)

Piper, if you're grain-feeding, the bulk of their protein will come from alfalfa (hay, cubes, pellets). If you want to use alfalfa pellets, you can add four parts of that to the mix I described. My buns don't care for the pellets. I used to give them free-choice alfalfa hay, but I haven't been able to get the hay since I moved, so I've switched to cubes.

It's been a while since I looked at protein percentages. I'll have to see whether I can dig up the info I found.

Just to clarify, hopefully you already know not to give the worms/flies to the rabbits, just the chickens.

I use 6 parts oats
one part...wheat
one part...barley