Runts....

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mytdogs

Reaction score
:cry: My 2 runts are dying. They look like little skeletons now. I held mom down 2 days in a row to let them feed but they never got big tummies- though they did get some I could see. Last night we had horrible thunder storms when I got home from work. While I was holding mom down we had a huge thunderclap & she kicked one of the babies across the room- thank goodness for the pile of hay on the floor to soften the landing!

Today when I got home the storms were even worse-Welcome to FL in the summer! The runts look so much worse- still moving but sooo skinny. I know they are not going to make it. I just can't decide if I should do anything about it. I feel like I should just let nature take its course but as a vet tech I feel obligated to end their suffering. I could take them to work & euthanize them tomorrow- but that would be stressful for them. I could use a pencil (cervical dislocation)- I just am not sure I'm up for that. I will probably just bring stuff home to euthanize them tomorrow after work (I get off early). They may not make it that long...

The other 5 kits are fat & sassy- though one is definitely the smaller of the 5. I will have to keep an eye on that one now.

How old do they have to be before we can sex them?

Its not unusual to loose a few in a big litter. Sorry it happens.
They can be sexed from as early as 3 days old. My daughter is a expert at it and she's 12 and been doing 3 day old sexing for a little more than a year now. She is running at 99% accurate at 3 days and 100% at one week.
Its not hard just takes practice.

I dont have a links off hand to pics that show and tell how to do it but google can help you out.