Worms in buckling...

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cereshill

Reaction score
I have a 10 week old that exhibits worms: thin clear worms in poops, doesn't eat or drink much. very quiet. I gave a fingernail size bit of ivemectrin last night. today a puddle of clear feces.... The coat is dull and dry, what else would you do?

I let him graze a section of new grass as an experiment last week---doesn't look like a great plan...

I also provided raw pumpkin seeds to all feeders tonight and will every other day for a week or two.<br /><br />__________ Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:19 pm __________<br /><br />Update: he pooped another clear mass with white threads... He also started to eat the fresh hay I provided; I am hoping the medicine is breaking up the worms and he will eat the seeds.
Haven't had this happen, but gotta learn sometime.

I have no first-hand experience of this in rabbits, CH, but it sounds as though the medicine is doing its work. Do you have him isolated? With all parasites, there is a cycle and you need to make sure that it does not spread to the other rabbits.

Yes, he is isolated and will remain so. I am washing his tray daily to both check results and insure it doesn't spread. Fortunately, he was solo as the otehr two left last week.
How long should I treat him; I would imagine he needs a good 2-3 weeks to clear up.

I will "burn" and bleach the cage and pan at some point too