Hay storage

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mytdogs

Reaction score
Hi all,

i am new to rabbits. I am trying to stay away from pellets. I need to know what to store the hay in. I am in super hot & humid FL. The Buns are on my sun porch- basically the walls are floor to ceiling windows. i try to keep them open but then rain can blow in- like it did last week & everything gets wet :( .

I am planning on setting up one side/corner with the windows closed & some sort of storage for the hay- any suggestions? I was thinking maybe a plastic clothes basket? That way air can circulate but the hay will be protected underneath. I have my oats, BOSS & alfalfa cubes in metal cans.

Sorry for such an elementary question but while I've always dreamed of farming I am a city girl just starting out.

Thanks!
Cindy with the D*gs & Buns in FL

How much hay are you storing at a time, Cindy? If less than a square bale, you might be better going with a net and hanging it like a sling or hammock. The hay would get air circulation on all sides. I did something similar with our home harvested hay - grass and alfalfa - making the sling out of an old cotton bedsheet. It worked well and kept the hay off the rabbitry floor. It was pretty easy to pull down on the nearest side to take hay out.

The "humid " part is what's going to get you in trouble down there. Here's what I do:(it does get humid here in the summer). The bales are outside, stacked, under a tarp. The tarp is OVER them, but doesn't wrap them up so they get plenty of air. I have a garbage can that I take out and put a few flakes of hay in when I need more. I wheel THAT inside to the rabbits and feed out of that for a week or so.

I like the sling idea. specially if you're short on space. the cotton would breathe well, too.