Newbie Questions

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kotapony

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been chewing on the idea of starting up a meat colony for several months now. I'm new to rabbits, and haven't yet bought anything (supplies or buns). I was hoping to ask a few questions and get some advice before I get in over my head. I've been lurking and trying to learn what I can. But I think I'm finally at the point where I either need to forge ahead or let this idea go.

What I'm looking to do is keep just a few rabbits. I'd like to provide a rabbit meal for my family once a week or so, and if I could sell just enough kits to break even on the feed bill that would be fantastic. For reference on that one, my husband and I make all our own hay (mostly timothy and clover, cut early for high protein) so that comes in at cost. A 50# bag of pellets is about $11.50 from Tractor Supply. And meat rabbits in this area sell from $10-20.

I've eyed out a 16' x 16' space in one of our bank barns, and conned my husband into letting me clean it out and use it for rabbits. Right now it's just used for junk storage. This is where I'm thinking of:

Picture 1 - Looks into the barn. Rabbits will be way in and down a cubby to the left. There's a big open door on the right at the same spot.

Picture 2 - Looks in the big open door I mention above. Rabbits will be straight back. There is a sliding door here that will close for winter.

Picture 3 - This is the space I've actually claimed. It doesn't look like much yet. The big post on the front right shows one corner. From there to the left wall or the back is 16'.