T2--new litter of 8!--but need advice

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cereshill

Reaction score
T2, one of our twin NZ/amer chin does had her litter late last night. 8 squirmy popples, Momma was HUGE-so I was frankly wondering if it would be 10. I have to watch her as she has cannibilized half her previous two litters. I am increasing her pellets and maintaining hay for her--she ate her nest box 3 nights in a row first litter.

I fostered three (survivors) of her previous 7. Only 2 of 7 made it from her first...

I have another doe that had 5 (runt put down) that I can foster to

Thoughts?

I know I'm new at this, but since you have that lovely doe with only 4 kits, I'd take a couple from new momma and see if the other doe will take them...although they're a few days younger and the older popples will likely fight them off for milk....

Giving momma tons of hay and piles of pellets should give her somethign to do...and always a good idea, I think. boy...quite a quandary there. Good luck with them! but...TEN!! woohooo!! here's hoping they all turn into great big wonderful fryers!!

Ann--its 8, thanks for the input. I will watch her closely today. Curly's milking really well and her popples are quite nicely sized at 4 days...
Just amazed at the growth rate of rabbits.

Congrats on your 8 new popples! :wbounce:

An old timer once told me to foster the largest, strongest kits when the litter they are going to is a bit older. They are more likely to be able to hold their own... and in this case it should save the best from any risk of being cannibalized.

Maggie

You message is a little convoluted---when should I pull a couple?

She has pulled a decent amount of fur, but nibbles at it... she has plenty of pellets and BOSS---and hay...

I certainly don't want to lose kits, Curly could likely take two more: that would make it two litters of 6.