Article on colony raising - interviews?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

miraclewelsh

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a freelance writer and I've raised rabbits for many years; I'm currently writing an article on colony raising for a magazine. I would like to conduct some short interviews with breeders who have experience with raising rabbits in colonies. I am seeking to include some quotes from breeders in my article, and I have prepared a short list of questions. Would anyone here be interested in answering them via email?

Thanks so much for your time!

Samantha

May I ask where your article is going to appear? And what the point of the article will be? I ask because it's a bit like a request I responded to once from another forum where a number of people responded, and then we saw the article. The person had used our words, out of context, and photographs, as NEGATIVES and to promote his own point of view, with our various methods as "what not to do" and "bad management". That one left a VERY nasty taste in my mouth.

Also...well...to be blunt, we don't know you. It's a bit like being on my farm and having a total stranger drop in and say "hi, I've been a farm for years and would like to interview you for a TV spot we're doing".

If you don't receive any help from RT folks, there is a yahoo group for colony raising that might be of assistance, too.

Thanks for your response--the idea is to present colony raising as an alternative method of rabbit-keeping. Sort of along the lines of pastured poultry or grass-fed beef; natural alternatives. My editor is very enthusiastic about presenting this method to the magazine's audience--so the article will obviously be presenting colony raising in a positive light, although the potential difficulties/hazards will of course be discussed for accuracy.