Rabbits Not Producing because of molt???

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minirexman

Reaction score
I posted this before but I think in the wrong place lol
I have a serious question... I am new to Florida so the hot summers are new to me. But in Ohio I would breed all year long. I have raised rabbits for 16yrs. I have bred multiple does multiple times and they are not producing. Several different bucks involved as well. Also I am not talking about a few does. I am talking about 60+ with a combination of 10 different bucks. All does willingly bred. Some even built nests right on time. But not a single doe produced a single baby. Local breeders here tell me its because of our temperature change. That when a rabbit is molting it will not produce? To me that sounds crazy but what do I know??? Anyone have any thoughts?

Sounds weird to me as mine still produce when moulting, now my chickens and quail slow down in egg production when in moult, maybe that's where they got the idea ?

Could the Bucks still be suffering heat sterility?

Dood":ctywrvex said:
Could the Bucks still be suffering heat sterility?
I've had does that are still somewhat in their molts produce babies, so my vote is for heat sterility, as well. :shrug:

Hi minirexman and welcome to RabbitTalk.

Just a couple of suggestions to help you use the forums effectively (and to save me work. :oops: )
Please take a little time to read through the Index Page to choose a forum. In this case your post is a breeding question and should go in the Breeding and Record Keeping forum in the category BREEDING AND RAISING RABBITS.

If you need a general forum because your rabbit-related topic doesn't fit one of the forums, you can post in Random Rabbit Ramblings. The Around the Coffee Table forum is for non-rabbit topics.