Ermine~ How do i incorporate?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

northwoodswoolys

Reaction score
Hey all! I'm new here, and new to breeding for show rabbits!
So, a little about me, I breed Jersey Woolys, shaded ( mainly tort ), broken, and self. I recently bought new stock and a super typey little Ermine doe was thrown into the bundle. From my understanding Ermine is a " torted" chin, and she has orange and tort in her background. My question is, how can I, if I can, incorporate her and use her in my breeding program? Buck wise I have a Sable Point, Black ( shaded back ground ), and a Blue Tort ( self/otter back ground ). If I cannot match her with any of my bucks, does anyone have any suggestions on a color or variety i breed her to? I'm still learning the actual genetics behind everyone! Thanks :)

"Ermine" can be regular tort chin or a torted agouti sable. Agouti sable are often called sable chin or light chin. It adds a slight complication to calculating colors when you don't know if you have the chin gene or the sable gene in an ermine. If you have experience with the myriad of shading that occurs when the nonextension/tort is applied you can tell as they mature a bit but it's often hard in pictures or with young kits. That's why I started calling my tort chin versions ermine and my sable versions frosty to keep track of what I was crossing but most use one word or the other for both. I had 1 chin in my starting group that occasionally resulted in the chin versions instead of the sable version of those near white shadeds.