Register

Holland Lop

Discussion of specific breeds, breed standards and selection criteria for purebreds.
BunnyBucks: 110.00

Holland Lop

Post Number:#1  Unread postby WWRabbitry » Mon Jun 25, 2018 11:19 am

Anyone know a few things about breed standard? I'm just starting out on breeding them.

4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
United States of America
BunnyBucks: 3,901.00

Re: Holland Lop

Post Number:#2  Unread postby SableSteel » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:03 pm

What's your question? The best things you can do to learn the standard is to buy the standard (from arba.net) and go to shows to watch them be judged

__________ June 25th, 2018, 8:54 am __________

niceholland.jpg
niceholland.jpg (48.21 KiB) Viewed 156 times

Here's a picture of a Holland that IMO fits the standard well (rabbit & picture by Kitsada Kamolsuntisuk)

Ajax.jpg
Ajax.jpg (77.32 KiB) Viewed 156 times

Here's another one, this rabbit won Best in Show at the national convention (rabbit & picture by Chris Zemny)

You want a large round head, short ears, a high head mount, thick, short limbs and a wide chest and body, among other things. The maximum weight is 4 lbs, above that they're disqualified. The vast majority of quality holland lops are black tortoise in color.
Show Breeder & ARBA Registrar

The following user would like to thank SableSteel for this post
SixGun

United States of America Female
BunnyBucks: 210.00

Post Number:#3  Unread postby golden rabbitry » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:52 pm

hi, I am aslo breeding holland lops and am looking for a new doe. All the does I found have long ears and all the bucks i found have short ones. Is it only a male trait?

4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
United States of America

Post Number:#4  Unread postby SableSteel » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:25 pm