Legal?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golden rabbitry

Reaction score
Hi
My name is Abi and I am a local backyard breeder that sells to new buy petshops and resently go this question:
"so you are legaly breeding? Do you have a permet? Is what you are doing TECHNICALY legal?"
And I have no idea what thiss person was saying but know i need do know
Am I legal?

The USDA puts limits on the number of rabbits that can be sold without a license and inspection, and California as a state may have limits, taxes to be paid, etc as well.
It would be best to contact your local agricultural extension office with that question. They can answer questions specific for your area and help you get the proper paperwork in order.

:yeahthat:

SixGun gave great advice... as a fellow Californian resident I would also recommend you look at your city and county laws. Not only are they helpful in determining how many rabbits you may have on your property, but a lot of cities/counties have their own rules for selling ages, etc. as well.

For example, where I live (and this might apply to most of California), rabbits must be at least 8 weeks old before they are able to be sold. They are also not permitted to be sold at swap meets, given away as prizes at fairs, or dyed in any color to be sold. And some counties require a permit if you sell more than a certain dollar amount per year. (I think it's $500 in most cases? I could be wrong).

Also, California passed a law in 2017 to prohibit pet stores from selling anything but rescue dogs, cats, and I believe rabbits. So you should probably check with the store you're selling to, in order to make sure they're following the law, too.