First litter, Only 3 Kits?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StaffordHomestead

Reaction score
It's my first year breeding meat rabbits. I have 2 American Blue does, and 1 male American Chinchilla. Bunny #1 had only 3 kits in her first litter, Bunny #2 had 4 kits. Is this normal? I am kind of disappointed I was hoping for 6-8 kits. I just rebred bunny #1 today so Im hoping for a better second litter. The does were both about a year old for their first breeding, I'm thinking maybe I started them too late or they're too overweight?? I don't know... any insight/tips would help!

I'm thinking it would have mostly to do with the age but you really never know. I would also consider how many times the buck fell off. We try for at least 4 times if the doe is oky with it. We also put her in again the next day because that can get the right hormones going. I would breed them again and see what happens.

Our doe ruby had one kit (& one DOA) her first litter (accidental litter) her second litter was Four (and one DOA) and her third last litter was eight. And this time I think she has at least 8 judging by the size of her belly.

Could just be luck. Having living kits at all Id consider a good first litter, so just try and rebreed them.

SableSteel":d2p7zgaz said:
Could just be luck. Having living kits at all Id consider a good first litter, so just try and rebreed them.

Agreed!