Cleaning bones for selling? Hints, tips and advice please

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GBov

Reaction score
I have discovered that, despite being a rather talented artist, the thing that sells best for me on Etsy are bones! And not just skulls, but bones of all kinds. I have sold rooster leg bones, pot bellied pig vertebra, skulls of all kinds and sizes, teeth and tusks.

Up until now I have either found the bits on walks or had them left over from cooking but now, I have run out and am starting to clean things for selling and have realized how little I know. :lol:

So, if you have any hints or tips or advice on bone/skull cleaning, degreasng, whitening, brightening, defleshing.........

Anything really!

Unlike Craigslist, Etsy is a global market so I don't think we can saturate the market with skulls. :lol:

i've been selling bones on etsy for a couple years now! i generally don't have too much trouble selling what i have, though i have a couple of skulls that have been up for ages and i can't get rid of. guess people just don't want beavers this time of year :T

my general process is:

- acquire skull. i tend to buy from trappers on taxidermy.net for variety, but i also pick up occasional roadkill and of course my rabbits.

- toss skull in bucket with a couple inches of water. keeps it moist for the buggos. i put a lid on the bucket that has some large holes drilled in it, and wait. the flies do a fantastic job and usually i have a clean skull in a week. there's plenty of other ways to do it, though, i wrote up a simple rundown of the methods here: http://vulturecat.tumblr.com/post/16576 ... ure-here-i many people deflesh their skulls and especially whole skeletons, and you will need to for some of these methods, but i'm lazy and find it really unecessary for the method i use, so i don't bother. the bugs will take care of everything for me