I finally have a litter with great growth! Update 5-25

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alforddm

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I've been raising rabbits for 3 years in Aug. I've struggled with poor growth. I was happy if I got 5lbs by 12 weeks. My first rabbits gave me closer to 3lbs at 12 weeks. My first litter from the fall gave me a buck that was 5lbs 3 oz at a few days over 9 weeks and on top of the they have fairly good type. Nice thick meaty rabbits. Of course there were only 3 in that litter but still. The dams was 5lbs 8oz at 12 weeks out of a litter of 9 and this was the bucks first litter. The two does were both 4lbs 6oz. I'm going to keep back all 3 of them and see how things go. I don't have a picture of them now but here is a baby pic.

They are harlequin, chocolate chin, and broken harlequinized castor.

Attachments

• IMG_20171024_152447.resized.jpg
    IMG_20171024_152447.resized.jpg
    347 KB · Views: 2,342
Congrats! We are growing a few pens out for our County fair in 2 weeks, and are enjoying better growth this year, compared to last. It's nice when everything seems to come together:)

Ok, I couldn't resist, I had to go take some update pictures. They are 13 weeks so and they've grown quite a bit since I weight them.

Attachments

• IMG_20180109_150456.resized.jpg
    IMG_20180109_150456.resized.jpg
    163.7 KB · Views: 2,314
  • IMG_20180109_150619.resized.jpg
    IMG_20180109_150619.resized.jpg
    162 KB · Views: 2,314
  • IMG_20180109_150600.resized.jpg
    IMG_20180109_150600.resized.jpg
    151 KB · Views: 2,314
They are gorgeous bunnies! That's awesome on the growth rates! I'm finally getting better ones this year too!

Thank you for the updated pictures! :oops:

I love how grumpy some Rex look. So adorable! One of mine is starting to get that same look, and I just can't resist loving him all the more!