Is This Buck Too Big?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NY Rabbits

Reaction score
New member and this is my first post. I hope to be a regular participant. I am just getting into rabbits for meat.

I have two Crème D'Argent does that weigh in between 8 and 9 pounds. My buck is an Altex, I think mixed with NZ, weighing in at 10-11 pounds. My first litter with this pairing was just born dead at 34 days and the kits seem rather large, 4-5 inches long. They were also born grey and I don't know if this is normal for this breed. Just wondering if this buck might be too big to breed to these does or if the 34 days caused them to be oversized. The second doe is due in three days so I am hoping for a better outcome. Any help will be appreciated.

Hi NY Rabbits . . . Glad to have your with us. :hi:

I don't think a 2-3 lb. difference should be a problem in meat rabbits. In some of the dwarf breeds it might matter more. My guess as to what happened with the first litter is that one got stuck and the others suffocated as a result. If the does was a first-timer and the kits larger because they were overdue, that is quite possible, but I don't think there is any reason to expect it to happen with the second doe.

:good-luck:

Welcome NYRabbits!

I agree with Maggie (as usual). As to the kit color, if your buck is white, it might be hiding some other colors in it's lineage.

Good luck with the other litter. Let us know how it goes.

Thanks for the feedback. I just put the nest box in for the second doe and she hopped right in and started making a depression. There will be someone here on day 30 to keep an eye on her so hopefully all goes well.

__________ Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:09 pm __________