what breed is this?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firstriver

Reaction score
Does anyone know what breed my rabbit might be? I am not sure if he is a harlequin, as he doesn’t have any orange colour, and most magpie harlequins from what I understand are mostly white. I thought maybe he is tortoiseshell, but I’m not sure. What do you think?
IMG_1954.JPG
IMG_1949.JPG
IMG_1942.JPG
IMG_1921.JPG

well, breed and colour are two different things (though harlequin is a breed AND a colour...confusing!)

your little guy looks like a lionhead mutt to me, seeing as he's got lovely mutton chops and some cool hair up top. as for his markings, he's definitely a harlequin, but i feel like there may be some sable or something else in there that's messing with the intensity of his colour, but i'm not really an expert on colour genetics.

shazza":275122bo said:
well, breed and colour are two different things (though harlequin is a breed AND a colour...confusing!)

your little guy looks like a lionhead mutt to me, seeing as he's got lovely mutton chops and some cool hair up top. as for his markings, he's definitely a harlequin, but i feel like there may be some sable or something else in there that's messing with the intensity of his colour, but i'm not really an expert on colour genetics.

LOL his mutton chops are so small like he’s tried to grow a beard and can’t!
I think he is definitely a harlequin mutt especially as he’s French. From what I read they are a French invention. Or is he a broken harlequin or a tricolour? I’m not sure what exactly makes one a broken harlequin.

Do you think he will become 8 pounds like they say? He’s only 5-6 months and still a bit small.

I don't think he'll get any bigger than this.

He looks like a lionhead cross to me (magpie colored)

I don't think he's a harlequin cross -