Lilac Chin or Lilac Sable Chin? updated pics

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PSFAngoras

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I have no experience with the Sable gene, but this little lilac has some darker areas on he ears and closer to his muzzle that I'm starting to wonder if he isn't a lilac Sable chin. Any thoughts?

I was going for chin, but this one's great grandmother was Sable, so it's more than possible, just haven't had one yet.

Attachments

• IMG_3493.JPG
    IMG_3493.JPG
    137.5 KB · Views: 2,688
I'd wait a little more, I think he might turn into some kind of siamese pointed or some such. Hard to tell from the picture. Or maybe a smutty lynx? I dunno

Yeah, he doesn't look particularly ermine/frosty either. If it were another breed (like hollands, which have smuttier non-extension - this would be a pretty average holland lop frosty) I'd say the chances of being frosty were higher, but all the ermine angoras I've seen have pretty clean color, not like this. This is one of those which I would just wait for it to age up a bit. As of right now the closest thing he looks to is a HL's frosty color. Not smoke pearl, the white inside the ears show agouti based (but smoke pearl chin is still a possibility)
The skin looks pink, though, what color was it born?

He looked Lilac chin until his ears turned darker. There's a pic of him in the "first litter in 6 months" thread that's up. He's the little dude in he middle, his Ermine sibling is right above him.

Thanks, I'm glad I'm getting 'closer' to chin at least, now if I could find a stinkin REW that fits well into my breeding program...