Register

Separation post-spaying

Understand why your rabbits behave the way they do - and what you can do about it.
New Zealand Male
BunnyBucks: 35.00

Separation post-spaying

Post Number:#1  Unread postby BigMac » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:53 pm

Hi all.

I'm still learning rabbit lingo, the female (doe?) is due to be spayed in a few weeks, and I am wondering what is a usual time to keep Mr away from Mrs post-surgery so he doesn't cause an injury?

3 weeks has been mentioned, however this seems a long time to me. And Mr will NOT be impressed. I get it's pretty major surgery on something so small, but is 3 weeks reasonable before unsupervised together-time can be resumed? After all the drama of sucessfully bonding these two, keeping them apart for that long will not go down well.

Or I am projecting human emotions on them, and they'll be all good?

Yes of course, I will ask the vet however to be diplomatic I would prefer some advice from others who have more hands-on experience ..

Thanks

Site Supporter
4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership4 years of membership
Austria
BunnyBucks: 3,819.00

Re: Separation post-spaying

Post Number:#2  Unread postby Preitler » Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:31 pm

The male is already neutered, right? What's their age?
I've no experience in that field, but I'm somewhat interested in retireing some of of my does from breeding that way.
"Sometimes I stand by the door and look into the darkness, then I am reminded how dearly I cherish my boredom, and what a precious commodity is so much misery"

Site Admin
8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership8 years of membership
Canada Female
BunnyBucks: 60,263.00

Post Number:#3  Unread postby MaggieJ » Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:34 pm