stuck in molt? help

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lordessashley

Reaction score
fair time here is soon approaching, I am new to rabbit showing so I didn't pay a whole lot of attention to detail with coats till now. my daughter took her dutch to show a few times and the last 2 shows she got dings for the coloring.... is she stuck in a molt? I have brushed and brushed and I can't seem to rid the discoloration!!! I even started her on calf manna a few months ago.... help. I'll try to add a picture.. it says it's too big... <br /><br /> -- Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:29 pm -- <br /><br /> I hope the picture is ok..

Attachments

• 20170624_213430_resized.jpg
    20170624_213430_resized.jpg
    286.1 KB · Views: 1,876
To me, it looks like she may be sunburnt. Is she housed in a hutch, in a barn, or inside? Obviously, you probably don't have your rabbit in full sun. But my rabbit got sunburnt just because the hutch got sun in the morning, and then when the sun shifted in the afternoon he was in shade; and somehow he got burnt. The sunburn faded his black coat to a reddish brown; so on a chocolate rabbit I imagine it would have a lighter discoloration as pictured on your daughter's dutch. She does not seem to be molting to me, but if it is sunburn you want her to molt it out. A small change in feed, a car ride, or a small change in housing may cause her to molt. For example, I have a rabbit I currently want to molt . I let her run in the exercise pen, took her for a car ride, and gave her a bit of dandelion every day. Now she's molting. No idea how that helps, but that's what I was told. :?

BUT.. keep in mind I'm pretty new to this rabbit stuff... I've only been doing it for four years. So maybe someone with more experience could pitch in here? :lol: