7 Kits, 6 Different Looks! (New to this!)

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aurora

Reaction score
Hi folks! I'm new to rabbit breeding and I'm super crazy excited about it! :p

I'm not new to breeding animals (I've been keeping snakes for 10 years) so I have some basic knowledge of genetics and mutations (recessive traits, dom, co-dom, etc.) but holeee crap bunnies have a lot going on! My brain is a little boggled. I'll learn in time (no doubt hopefully by hanging around you wise folks) and I appreciate any help you can give!

I have a pair of what I was told are New Zealand/Californian crossed rabbits. Bojack is black, Princess Caroline is spotted (broken?) black and white. Her first litter froze this winter, four kits, two that looked like mom and two like dad. When she had this, her second litter, I was totally blown away - I had no idea all the fun genetic stuff they were hiding!

Day 1 (Day after birth)
rofS7Cz.jpg

Day 3
zMlXlww.jpg

Day 5
cVX8gmJ.jpg

I'm pretty sure this one is Cinnamon (correct me if I'm wrong!):
KfSl2we.jpg

Now a couple questions!

I had a happy spasm when I saw the tricolor - how do I get more (other than of course breeding the parents)? Do all the kits in the litter carry the genes for tricolor or just some?

Is Cinnamon both a breed and a color? How does that work? I live way up in the boonies so I'm not planning on showing, just curious.

Any idea what the grey one is?

Is it normal to get this much genetic diversity in a litter?

What would you keep for future breeding?

Thanks for your help!

Aurora":3fcqwabv said:
I'm pretty sure this one is Cinnamon (correct me if I'm wrong!)
That "cinnamon"-looking one looks like a tort to me (to my understanding Cinnamon is a breed, and only called that color within the breed?). But look up "black tort" in rabbit colors and that looks like a match!

Aurora":3fcqwabv said: