Goats vs Sheep

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am big into research..... I will be moving to a farm in 3-5 years... I am currently researching Goats vs Sheep (Hair sheep)

I want a smaller animal, that I can milk & raise for meat
I'm in SW Canada; Winters are damp and cold (couple of months of 10-30 degrees); Summers are hot and humid (80-100); Fall & Spring are rainy and all over the board with temperatures changing 30degrees in a matter of hours.

I would prefer to get my breeding stock in Canada.
I have limited experience having Nigerian Dwarf Goats for 1.5years. (I did not have success milking my goats)

I would love for others to add their Positives vs Negatives for a breed of either a goat or a sheep(hair sheep) to raise.

i haven't owned either, but i've also been doing loads of research for the past year or so in preparation for getting both species in the very near future..so maybe some of the things i've learned may help? i also have a bonus of my roommate growing up on a goat dairy lol.

goats are great for milk and meat - but you'll need two different breeds to accomplish both. generally i've learned that "dual-purpose" breeds aren't really worth it. if you want milk, get a milk goat. if you want meat, get a meat goat. a dual-purpose will basically be sub-par at both jobs.