What breed of Angora?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueHaven

Reaction score
I love to crochet and have decided to get an angora rabbit just for a wooler. While I am a pet groomer and know the upkeep I have NO experience with angoras at all. I raise rex, so this will be new for me.
I love the look of the Satins but have heard the are spastic and jumpy, The english look daunting they have so much hair, and the french look a little I don't know,, dry? What breed to you like and Why?

To look, at I like the satins. Their wool is finer than the rest, so it's harder to groom and gives less wool. French angoras or german angoras would be the best for wool production, I think.

I have both French and Satin, and I like both breeds. I think they each have their ups and downs.

French are certainly huge fiber producers, but so can most Angora breeds be if you get into the right lines. I was slightly disappointed with my oldest doe for producing only 5.5 ounces this molt, but that's still a good harvest when it's usually estimated that they give only a pound a year. Also, well socialized French are usually comparable in temperament to a giant pillow. As far as fiber texture thy are supposed to be a coarser wooled rabbit, and if you have sensitive skin, the guard hairs that create the halo can irritate you. As far as size, I have oversized lines that finish out between 11-13 pounds usually, and though it's too large for show, I just processed some Jr's that I bet were at 5 pounds at 11 weeks, which is pretty impressive for also having to grow all that wool.