Developing a Breeding Program

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BelleVie

Reaction score
Hello, I am just beginning my breeding journey and my does have kindled 10 litters since last summer so I have the basics down - my oldest retained does from my first litters are just now kindling their first litters. It is an exciting time and I have high hopes for the future but I'm struggling to know what to do next. I'm trying to find some good information on developing a breeding program to improve my stock and attain the Rex standard of perfection.

My original stock was ok - decent Rex, the best I could find at the time with the knowledge I had but I need to improve on some body width/coat/color issues.

For those of you who have successfully created a breeding program over time:

1. Can you share your breeding philosophy?
2. What are your top 'rules' for determining what kits to keep/cull? At what age(s) do you do so?
3. How do you selectively breed to correct body issues? Fur issues?
4. If you outcross do you use does or bucks?
5. If you linebreed, what is your typical pattern of breeding? How do you know when your stock is ready to start linebreeding vs. outcrossing?

Thank you!

That is one deep question Belle....

I don't breed REX, but I hang with REX breeders a lot..... and recently settled down to breed Magpie Harlequin.

Here is the advice that REX breeders gave me:

A. Build your house first. Work on the TYPE for your rabbits before anything else... the length, depth, width should be almost equal when posed up correctly. Cull for pinched hocks, long shoulders or flat animals- depth is very important for showing this breed.
B. Any genetic issues - cull - you need to be a bit fussy to breed good animals.
C. Learn a bit about colour genetics, so you can select well for your colour.