Let's Talk Mycotoxins?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Olimpia

Reaction score
First of all forgive me for any gaps in my knowledge, I'm an animal nutrition student but I'm still learning!

I recently read a report on the 2016 corn crop in the USA that has me greatly concerned. Mycotoxins, which are fungal pathogens that can be found in any type of grain, but are most common in corn, are, to be frank, skyrocketing in prevalence. There isn't much research on them (perhaps Alfatoxin is the most studied, but there are so many different types of mycotoxin).
Further bad news, there has been evidence that even small amounts of mycotoxin which would be harmless alone can become much more harmful if more than one type is present at once!

I really don't want to sound the alarm here, but rabbits and swine are probably the two most sensitive animals to mycotoxins, babies even more so. And I read so many reports lately of feed causing trouble in rabbits, I'm starting to wonder if there is a connection here, that goes beyond feed brand. This really is a batch by batch type issue, and even a corn free feed like Purina can still have mycotoxins from grains like wheat...

Here is the report I read:
http://www.biomin.net/en/press-releases ... in-survey/
2016 US corn highlights:

Deoxynivalenol saw slightly higher occurrence at 75% (72% in 2015) and average contamination levels at 1670 ppb (691 ppb in 2015).
Fumonisins’ prevalence reached 72% (52% in 2015) with an average contamination level of 4424 ppb.
Zearalenone became much more prevalent at 42% (17% in 2015) while the average contamination also made a jump to 412 ppb from 247 ppb in 2015.

“All three major toxins (DON, FUM, and ZEN) have an increased prevalence in US corn harvested in 2016 in comparison to 2015,” said Dr Erika Hendel, Swine Technical Manager at BIOMIN.