Kit cannibalism

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LittleHolland

Reaction score
This is my first time posting, so my apologies in advanced if this is posted in the wrong area. I am hoping for some input from people who have experienced a mom cannibalizing kits.

One of our does (6mo old) was getting ready to have her first litter. She went through one false pregnancy, but we were certain she was pregnant this time. We gave her a nest box and building materials. She refused to make the nest in the box and instead built the nest right beside it. We stuffed grass in the box, but she still refused the box. So, we had a very good suspicion she would deliver outside the NB and didn't want to remove her current nest.
We had first litter gitters, and didn't have high expectations for a viable litter as half of our moms lost their first litters.

At around 2am (when I woke up to check on her) she delivered 5 kits, on the cage floor of course, and she cannibalized every single one of them. And I don't mean nibbled an ear off. Some were missing their heads, some were clearly chewed all over and stomped on. A couple were alive, but chewed on so badly. It was awful.

She is a bit of a neurotic mess. She's constantly chewing and the only rabbit who needs/likes toys. Is there anything I can do to calm her down for her next litter? We are worried she will do this again.

Any advice or tips would be most helpful! Thank you :bunnyhop: