Basement housing

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HOWsMom

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I live in a townhouse, and am trying to make better use of the limited space (and poor layout) of my home.

This means I will be moving some of the animals to the basement.

It's a semi-finished basement - paneling on the walls, and a concrete or cement floor.

NO natural lighting. None. Zero. Zilch.

I'm also going to be moving my sewing stuff down - so I will be working with increasing both the amount and the quality of lighting.

But, what else will I need to keep in mind with animals in the basement ?

Fans ?
Air purifier ?

Laundry area is down there, so we have access to water on that floor.

Something to keep odour down and out of my fabric (and the bunnies noses!)

It won't be many animals - a doe and litter, maybe a guinea pig.

I have no experience with indoors rabbits, basement or otherwise, but from the housing we've done in shed and barn I'd say that ventilation would be important for controlling odors and for health. I hope someone with house rabbit experience will reply.

FIRST issue SMELL!!:
I found that Hydrated Lime (or stall dry) helps with smell a bit.
I also experimented with using peat moss instead of shavings.
(I sprinkled the litter pan with hydrated lime and topped it with peat moss. )

Pros: Litter can go right in the garden
I found that the litter didn't smell as bad

Cons: Peat moss (PM)is more expensive than shavings.
Hydrated lime(HL) from the feed store comes in 25kg bags.
the HL dust gives me a headache if I breath it in. (I suggest those paper masks and sprinkling outside)
HL shouldn't come in contact with your critter, so only useful if your rabbit is on wire with a pan beneath.
PM makes your hands dirty

SECOND issue Lighting:
(my critters started off in the garage, so I understand the lighting issue)