First litter!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ferra

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
Well, my grumpy little doe pulled through for me, and delivered her babies right on time. She also pulled a TONNE of fur. Our weather is warmer , but I'm sure the little buns will appreciate all that insulation on the weekend when it gets a little nippier than it has been today.

I have a batch of 5 little rabbits. They have not been fed yet, but they may well be 2 hours old or less. Mom was interested in them, but had yet to climb back into the next box to give them a feeding. I've weighed them, and they range from 49 to 66g, (Weights, 66, 54, 54, 49, and 57, in the same order as the photos below).

As an aside, if anyone haunting the genetics forum wants to help me out with these little guys, I WOULD appreciate it. I'm still learning how to ID some of the colors and am hoping to get a better idea what the color genetics on my breeders are.

Dam: Blue Silver Martin Doe, Mithril (Presumed at _, B _, Cchd _, dd, E _.)

Sire: REW New Zealand, Dolomite (obviously _ _, _ _, c c , _ _, _ _ for now) I am going to try and fill things in as they go.

Here are the five babies. Sorry for the blurry photo on #1...

ACMD1.jpg
Little (? black?) kit, with white ears and a light spot on the nape of the neck. Perhaps an otter like mom? Didn't see a "blaze" on this one, the other two pseudo black buns seem to have one, though.

ACMD2.jpg
Little white kit. Probably a REW, but a small chance that he/she will grow up to be a Himi if mom carries that as her recessive.

ACMD3.jpg
Another little white kit!

ACMD4.jpg
A little (?black) kit, but this one has darker ears... I'm wondering if maybe this little one has steel... but he does have the light neck mark of kit 1, as well as a blaze on his forehead. Not sure what to consider it as. Will have to see what it does as it grows!