Colony Question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeachBC

Reaction score
I know this is probably a really dumb question, but I'm totally new to rabbits!

I have a 13'X16' rabbit barn with hanging cages but would really like to colony raise a few of the rabbits. Is it okay to colony raise in the same building as the caged rabbits, or would all the extra rabbit waste be a problem for the loose rabbits?

I just found a 6'X10' chain link kennel on craigslist for $75, so I could maybe fix that up and grow some grass in it so they could be outside during the day if weather allows? That way they'd only be in the barn at night or if it's storming.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

I think you could do this with some modifications. That's a nice big floor space. I had a successful small colony in an 8' x8' space.

How many hanging cages do you have and how are they positioned? (ie. along the perimeters or in rows or what?) Would it be possible to install hanging slant boards to direct the waste to the outside edges? You would need nest tunnels rather than open nests, I think, in the colony itself.

Colonies are most trouble-free where the rabbits have always been together. Mother-daughters or sisters never separated help to ensure that territorial behaviour is minimized.

I really liked having rabbits in a colony instead of in cages, but you do have to be vigilant and have the ability to see and react to problems promptly.