Maintenance of large herds

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigfoot_158

Reaction score
How would one keep up with the grooming of a large herd? Like toe nail trimming, brushing when molting. I only have 5 breeders and I know that it takes me a while to do all 5 of them. And I am new to the whole rabbit thing so I have a large learning curve. I had one customer this summer tell me they had 80 rabbits :shock: , that would take me weeks to just trim their nails. :)

I don't brush mine. Himalayans have very low maintenance coats - I've only one rabbit that needs his molted fur brushed out, and he's just too old groom himself properly. Sometimes I run over them with wet cloth or rags to help with static at shows. I usually trim the nails when I get a rabbit to load them up for a show or breed them. This way all my show rabbits get done pretty often, and all my breeders get clipped too. I have a couple mass nail clipping days too, when I have a lag in breeding and showing. I can trim a rabbit's nails in about two minutes, so it goes rather quickly. With large herds, you expect to have to devote entire days or a couple evenings to your rabbits at least every so often.

The fastest way to trim nails for me has been to hold the rabbit in a football hold, use the hand that's holding them to expose the nail, and use the other hand to hold the clippers and trim. I do one side, move the rabbit to my other armpit and do the other side, and then I'm done. The dollar store sells some very nice cat nail trimmers that work well for this. Flipping them onto their back takes too much time.