Dispatching with a pellet gun...

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new to raising rabbits...again, I did raise rabbits maybe 30 years ago but am coming back to it.
I just butchered 2 Sat and dispatched then with a .22 cal rifle. Is there a reason the pellet gun is better?

I have a pellet pistol but worry it may not kill them as quickly as the .22.

Pellets just cost less. A .22 is fine too- we always have a .22 as backup, loaded and ready to go.

Lowell":h3hyi78h said:
I am new to raising rabbits...again, I did raise rabbits maybe 30 years ago but am coming back to it.
I just butchered 2 Sat and dispatched then with a .22 cal rifle. Is there a reason the pellet gun is better?

I have a pellet pistol but worry it may not kill them as quickly as the .22.

Both work fine for the job. You need to be especially careful using the .22 because it has more power and that increases the possibility of ricochet. Some of us, here in Canada, use pellet guns to avoid having to jump through the hoops needed to own a firearm. Some people on both sides of the border use pellet guns because they are inside city or town limits and cannot use a firearm there. Both are very acceptable methods of dispatching rabbits.

MaggieJ":3dcvyxx8 said:
Some people on both sides of the border use pellet guns because they are inside city or town limits and cannot use a firearm there.

Funny you should say that, had the cops swarm the house a few weeks back, because of a report of shots fired. My brother, big black man, tried to explain to 4 cops 9pm at night, guns draw, that they seriously must have the wrong house, because no one on this property even owns a firearm.