What is a fair price for Dutch Rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrr

Reaction score
I recently bought a purebred Dutch doe and her two kits, and while I'm keeping the doe for breeding, I'm going to need to sell the two young'uns.. Problem is, I'm new to Dutch rabbits and I'm not sure what a fair price would be to sell them for. I don't see any listings in my area for purebred Dutch that might give me some kind of indication.. Could anyone help?

Also, a friend of mine has a litter of Dutch/Netherland dwarf mixes and was asking me what to list them for.. What's a fair price for a mix? I've seen purebred ND's go for ~$100-120, and I've seen Dutch/ND cross buns go for $80.. (Keep in mind these are Canadian dollars)

What would you say are fair prices for both a purebred Dutch kit and a ND/Dutch mix?

It really depends on the area. I highly suggest picking up a few papers and scouring the online ads as well as any pet shops within driving or walking distance for a base price. It also depends on how quickly (or if you care they sell at all). The cheaper, to a point, the quicker sell but the cheaper price point usually brings more unfit attention and those that are buying with no knowledge and little care...although not always its been my experience its the vast majority sadly. Cheap can also work against you, some people consider a price tag the "worth" of the animal...high price tag must be really well cared for and cheap not so much cared for despite appearances.

In my area they range from free to several hundred US dollars, I'm considering all touching states in this figure. This is with pedigree and show career as well as none for pure dutch. Crosses are any where from again free to 50/60 within state, if you go a few states around it goes from free to 80 being a max. I don't know the conversion ratio though :/