What makes a rabbit unfit to eat

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DoubleA

Reaction score
I am new to the meat rabbit journey,
several of my fryer rabbits have started getting a yellow wet matted rump area, appears that maybe they are having diarrhea to cause this.
They are being raised on grass and pellets.

I am researching to see what exactly it is, I am thinking maybe coccidia?

My question is, are they safe to eat? I don't want them to go to waste, but definitely not worth getting sick over.

If it is coccidia can I treat their water with corrid like I did my chickens?
I would prefer to treat them as a precautionary at a young age to give it plenty of time to wear off before it is time to butcher.

I would add stuff containing tannins to their diet, like willow, hazel etc., I feed some willow almost every day as prevention (and because they love it), but I didn't have problems with cocci before either, so I have no first hand experience with treatment.

Threads on this topic:
how-do-you-prevent-treat-coccidia-in-your-herd-t29971.html
post302419.html

Although there isn't much that would make the meat bad I would toss an infected liver, somewhat gross.

The diarrhea could indicate weaning enteritis, which is pretty common among young pellet-fed rabbits.

When you say that you feed your rabbits grass, do you mean actual green grass or mixed grass and weeds? Some grass is fine, but it is better mixed with weeds -- this may be the reason for the diarrhea.

We have a Safe Plants List that will give you alternatives.
safe-plants-for-rabbits-list-t55.html